Begin Main Content Area

Professional Certification Program

Pro Board Accreditation LogoOSFC Certification LogoIFS Accreditation Logo

PLEASE NOTE: We are in the process of uploading new and updated certification documents to the website. To make sure you are using the correct form, please call the State Fire Academy at 717-248-1115, or email Tracie Young-Brungard, Michael McBride, or David Smyth.


In accordance with Act 61, the Office of the State Fire Commissioner is responsible for the implementation of firefighter training and certification developed in accordance with and consistent to established standards. The Office of the State Fire Commissioner (OSFC) is the certifying agency within the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and the State Fire Academy (PSFA) is the administering agency.

This program was established in 1983 when a committee known as the Fire Service Certification Advisory Committee (FSCAC) was formed to explore the implementation of a voluntary certification program for firefighters. The FSCAC provides the OSFC with program guidance and peer review. In October 1985, the National Pro-Board on Fire Service Professional Qualifications (NBFSPQ) approved the certification processes and procedures established by the OSFC and accredited Pennsylvania to offer Fire Fighter I certification. Today all certifications are nationally accredited by the National Board on Fire Service Professional Qualifications (NBFSPQ) and the International Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC).

The OSFC Volunteer Fire Service Certification Program has received its five-year reaccreditation each time since 1985 and currently offers thirty-four (34) levels of certification. To make the program easily accessible to emergency services providers there are thirty-one (31) PSFA approved test sites geographically dispersed throughout the Commonwealth at which certification testing is conducted.

The purpose of this program is to identify and recognize emergency service personnel whose accomplishments in training and education meets or exceeds nationally recognized standards. The NFPA standards for Fire Service Professional Qualifications identify the minimum requirements for a person at a particular level of progression. A person certified to one of the Fire Service Professional levels will have demonstrated competency in the knowledge and skills required to perform at a particular level. The service that can be offered to the citizens, visitors, and communities of the commonwealth will be enhanced by the professional competency attained through this certification process.

Additional Information about Certification

Certification Levels Presently Offered

  • Obtain information for certification such as applications, skill sheets and candidate handbooks.

Certification Exams Schedule

  • View the annual commonwealth wide certification test schedule as well as Test Site locations and contact information.

Evaluator Workshop Schedule

  • View the annual commonwealth wide evaluator workshop schedule.

Certification Policies – This document is currently being updated. Check back for the revised information.

  • Select listing of certification policies from the Administrative Policy Manual that will assist applicants and support, promote, and encourage voluntarily certification within the commonwealth.

Participating Departments

  • A program that recognizes those organizations that have voluntarily certified within the commonwealth's Certification Program.
  • You can now order and pay for participating department decals online.


Patch Order Forms

Voluntary Rescue Service Recognition Program

  • The Voluntary Rescue Recognition Program is a joint program between the Office of the State Fire Commissioner and the Department of Health Bureau of EMS. This purpose of this program is to recognize those emergency services that can safely and efficiently perform rescue operations and that have met all the standards as established by the two agencies.

Duplicate Certificates