PA State Fire Academy LOCAL LEVEL
INSTRUCTOR APPLICATION

For Application Period October — December 15, 2020

INSTRUCTIONS

Thank you for expressing an interest in becoming a Pennsylvania Fire Service Local-
Level Instructor. Please refer to Directive 2001-01 Revised 7/1/2017 entitled
Pennsylvania State Fire Academy Instructor Classification System and Code of
Professionalism. This Directive sets the requirementsto become a local-level
instructor, details the instructor classification and credential maintenance
requirements, and defines the instructor Code of Professionalism.

Carefully follow all instructions and complete the application in its entirety. All
requirements for the level you are applying MUST be completed PRIOR to making
application.

Applications and application packages not complete or submitted
incorrectly will be rejected. You must then re-apply during the next

Instructor Application Period which opens in October 2020.

Application Process

1. All applications to become a Local Level Instructor will be made on PA State Fire
Academy (PSFA) forms.

2. All prerequisites required by this directive must be fully completed and complied
with before an application is submitted.

3. All applications must be complete with all documentation attached or the
application will be rejected and returned.

4. Applications will ONLY be accepted from October 1 to December 15.
Applications must be mailed to the following address and be received
at the PSFA by close of business on December 15,2020.

Pa State Fire Academy

ATTN: Instructor Review Committee
1150 Riverside Drive

Lewistown, PA 17044

5. The application review process will be completed by April 1, 2021 Applicants shall
be notified of the results during the month of May 2021.

6. Applicants dissatisfied with their application determination may appeal to the
Instructor Review Committee. Any such appeal shall be received in writing at the
PSFA within 30 days of the date of their notification. The appeal shall fully describe
the reasons for the appeal.



http://www.osfc.pa.gov/State%20Fire%20Academy/Local%20Level%20Training%20Program/Pages/Local-Level-Training-Instructor-Information.aspx
http://www.osfc.pa.gov/State%20Fire%20Academy/Local%20Level%20Training%20Program/Pages/Local-Level-Training-Instructor-Information.aspx
http://www.osfc.pa.gov/State%20Fire%20Academy/Local%20Level%20Training%20Program/Pages/Local-Level-Training-Instructor-Information.aspx
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PAGE 1:

Complete the top half of the page only.

Line 1: Provide your full name and FEMA Student Identification Number.

Line 2: Indicate where you would like your mail addressed.

Line 3: Indicate the county of your primary/permanent residence.

Line4 & 5: Provide your home and business (if applicable) addresses.

Line 7: Provide your home and business telephone and your email address.

Line 8: Provide your date of birth, height, weight, and US Citizen status.
(applicants must be 26 years of age by May 1, 2021)

Line 12: Indicate if there is any reason that you physically could not perform the
competencies of a course and duties as a Local Level Instructor.

Line 13: Indicate the Instructor Level for which you are applying.

Line 14: Indicate the course(s) you wish to be accredited to instruct per Section

IV.C.7 in the Pennsylvania State Fire Academy Instructor Classification
System and Code of Professionalism.

Page 2:
General Requirements:
Line 1: Indicate your age (applicants must be 26 years of age by May 1,
2021) and years of experience since age 18.
Line 2: Have you completed an Adult Education Methodology program.
Line 3: List any convictions of a Crime — Misdemeanor 2 or higher?
Line 4: References: List three (3) people who can attest to your capabilities in

the emergency services and training. One of the references must be
from a Pennsylvania State Fire Academy Instructor (Resident, Adjunct,
or Local Level). Have each of your references write their letter and
then place it in a sealed envelope before they give it to you. Enclose
those sealed envelopes with your application. Only sealed reference
letters will be acceptable.

Education: Indicate if you are a high school graduate or have received a General
Education Diploma (GED) or greater. List post-secondary schools
attended the curriculum you studied and degree if any.

Employment Record:
List your current employer, job responsibilities and the date you
started. Then list your immediate past employer.



PENNSYLVANIA

STATE

PA State Fire Academy LOCAL LEVEL
INSTRUCTOR APPLICATION
For Application Period October — December 15, 2020

FIRE ACADEMY

LOCAL LEVEL INSTRUCTOR APPLICATION PAGE INSTRUCTIONS

Page 3:
Fire Service Experience:

Complete this section by listing all fire, rescue, and EMS organizations in which
you are active. Indicate your current rank and all past offices you have held. The
last question asks if you have been expelled or suspended by an emergency
service organization. If yes, list the reason for, and the term of expulsion or
suspension.

Page 4:
Documentation:

This is an important part of your application. The certificate copies you provide
will verify the information in your application. Therefore, it should be as
complete as possible. The documentation listed is the minimum required.
Additional documentation should be used to strengthen your application. Be
sure to provide copies of the documentation required each section.

Prepare a resume’ which indicates ALL fire, rescue, and/or emergency medical
training you have completed. Include military and college level training
accomplished during your time as an emergency service responder. If you are
seeking instructorship in a specialized area, be sure to include copies of
certificates for those specialty areas. Applications must be signed and dated.

Assembling the Instructor Application Package:
The entire application shall be placed in an expandable folder not a 3-ring

binder or equivalent (do not place in protective covers). It must be neat and
professional in appearance. It shall be assembled in the following order:

e Instructor Application (4 pages)

e Required documentation (placed in the order as indicated on page 4 of
the application, 1-9 for Agency or PEMA, 1-12 for Non-Suppression or 1-10
for Suppression)

e Resume of Training & Education

e Additional Documentation of Training & Education (grouped in topic areas,
i.e., HazMat, Rescue, etc.)
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ACCEPTABLE FOR MEETING THE EDUCATIONAL METHODOLOGY TRAINING
REQUIREMENT:

e Documented successful completion of any gne of the following courses:

o PA State Fire Academy Course Educational Methodology for Local
Level Instructors (EMLL).

o PA Department of Conservation and Natural Resources Instructor
Trainer Course (30 hours — Sir Stanford Fleming College).

o National Fire Academy Resident Course R — 114 Fire Service Course
Design or its predecessor Fire Service Instructional Methodology.

o A formal post-secondary collegiate-level course in adult education
methodology awarding at least 1 college credit.

o A formal course of instruction in adult educational methodology and
instructing adults of at least 30 hours duration conducted by another
state’s fire training system, the military services, state/federal agency,
or other organization (i.e. PSP Instructor Development, DOC TST,
MOPETC-General Instructor, WMD Instructor Training-COBRA)

OR
o Certification course certificate (not challenge examination) as a Fire Instructor
Il by an entity accredited by the National Board on Fire Service Professional
Qualifications (NBFSPQ) or the International Fire Service Accreditation
Congress (IFSAC).

OR
o Certification as public school teacher by the Pennsylvania Departmentof

Education; secondary or post-secondary certification preferred.
OR

e Certification as an EMT Instructor by the Pennsylvania Department of Health.

ACCEPTABLE EQUIVALENCIES IN LIEU OF COMPLETING State Fire Academy
RESIDENT COURSES Engine Company Operations in Residential Structures
(ZSFB) and Fire Operations at Large Structures (ZSFA):

Documented successful completion of any one of the following:

e Completion of a recruit level formal course of instruction of not less than 150
hours in length (with emphasis on structural fire fighting) required as a condition
of employment in a career fire department.

e Completion of the Department of Defense/US Air Force Fire Protection
Specialist Technical Training Course at Goodfellow Air Force Base, Texas or
(formerly) Chanute Air Force Base, lllinois.
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All applicants must include a Criminal Record Check and Child Abuse Histor
Clearance dated within 1 year of application receipt.

Criminal Record Check - Act 34
Use the following directions to obtain Record Check:

1) Applicant must secure Form SP-164 from the Pennsylvania State Police Barracks
or from the Pennsylvania State Police web site: https://epatch.state.pa.us

Child Abuse History Clearance — Act 151 - Call 717 783-6211 to request form and
instructions OR go to: http://www.dpw.state.pa.us click History Clearance Form
(CY-113). Complete Part 1 only (be sure to sign and date). College roommates are
NOT considered household members. Previous Street address(s) are not required if
unknown. The form must be mailed and not available to be processed via internet.

A three (3) week lead time is typical for the clearance. For “Purpose of Clearance”
check the “SCHOOL” box. After you have completed the assembly of your

application package, including all documentation, copy everything for your records.
Mail your application to:

PA State Fire Academy

ATTN: Instructor Candidate Review Committee
1150 Riverside Drive

Lewistown, PA 17044

An incomplete or improperly assembled application will not be accepted. All
requirements for the level of instructor you are applying must be met prior to
making application.

If you have any questions, contact the State Fire Academy, Monday through Friday,
8:00 AM to 4:00 PM at (717) 248-1115 or 1-800-459-4096.


https://epatch.state.pa.us/
http://www.dpw.state.pa.us/

	INSTRUCTIONS
	Application Process
	PA State Fire Academy
	Page 2:
	Employment Record:
	Page 3:
	Page 4: Documentation:
	Assembling the Instructor Application Package:
	OR
	OR
	OR
	All applicants must include a Criminal Record Check and Child Abuse History Clearance dated within 1 year of application receipt.


