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Effective December 31, 2014, Pennsylvania amended the state’s Child Protective Services Law and 
declared every “Emergency Medical Services provider certified by the Department of Health,” all 
individuals who “accept responsibility for a child,” and all others who may have “direct contact with 
children” to be mandatory reporters of suspected child abuse. 23 Pa.C.S. § 6311.  Generally, speaking 
FIRE and EMS providers do not need clearances regardless of whether they are paid or volunteer.  
The amendments to the Child Protective Services Law require all prospective and current adults 
working in a paid or unpaid capacity “who have direct contact with children or who are responsible for 
the welfare of a child” (under 18 years of age) to obtain both criminal background check and child 
abuse clearances once every 5 years.  23 Pa.C.S. § 6344.4(1)(i). “Direct contact with Children” is 
defined in the Child Protective Services Law as “the care, supervision, guidance or control of children 
AND routine interaction with children”. 23 Pa.C.S. § 6303.  This is the standard that will apply to 
determining whether an adult volunteer must get the background checks. 

 
These background checks are required for adults and are conducted to determine if a volunteer or 
employee has been convicted of any serious felonies or sex crimes, or has been identified as a 
perpetrator in a substantiated case of child abuse. 23 Pa.C.S. § 6344(c)(2). Also, any convictions of a 
drug offense within the past five years will also disqualify an individual from serving as a volunteer who 
works with children.  23 Pa.C.S. § 6344(c)(3). 

 
New volunteers who have contact with children: 

 
A. who have resided in the Commonwealth continuously for at least the past 10 years will be 

required to obtain a Pennsylvania State Police criminal background check clearance 
(criminal history), as well as a Child Abuse History Clearance from the Department of 
Human Services. 

B. who have resided in the Commonwealth for less than 10 years will be required to obtain a 
Pennsylvania State Police criminal background check clearance (criminal history), a Child 
Abuse History Clearance from the Department of Human Services, and an FBI criminal 
background check clearance, which includes fingerprinting . 

 
Any employee with current clearances issued prior to July 1, 2015, must renew within 5 years from the 
date of their oldest certification or, if current clearances are older than 5 years, by December 31, 2015. 

 
Existing volunteers will have until July 1, 2016 to produce the required clearances for the organizations 
they volunteer.  The volunteers and employees must produce originals of the clearances to the 
agencies for which they work or volunteer and the agency must make and retain a copy of these 
clearances. Once the clearances are obtained, they will need to be renewed (i.e., new, updated 
clearances will need to be obtained and given to the agency) every five years.  Any new 
volunteer or employee must have the clearances before beginning volunteer or paid service. 

 
Any person who has obtained the required clearances may transfer or provide services to another 
subsidiary or branch established and supervised by the same organization, or serve in a volunteer 
capacity for any program, service or activity, during the length of time the person's certification is current 
(within five year timeframe). 23 Pa.C.S. § 6344.3(f)(1).   Any employee who begins employment with a  
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new agency, institution, organization or other entity that is responsible for the care, supervision, 
guidance or control and routine interaction with children shall be required to obtain a new certification of 
compliance. 23 Pa.C.S. § 6344.3(f)(2).  Volunteer clearances cannot be used for employment. 

 
The following questions are provided to assist emergency responders to clarify application of the law 
as it relates to “direct contact with children”. 

 

1. As a member of a volunteer or career organization are you responsible for the supervision, 
guidance or control of junior members, children AND have routine daily interaction with 
children? 
a. Determining whether a volunteer is responsible for the welfare of a child means that the 

volunteer is acting in lieu of or on behalf of a parent. 
b. Do you have direct contact with children and are you responsible for the safety of that child as 

your primary consideration? 
c. Do you have direct contact (routine interaction, that is regular, ongoing contact) that is 

integral to your volunteer responsibilities? 
If you answered yes to any of the items above, you must obtain the appropriate clearances. 

 
All fire and emergency medical service organizations should establish a written policy to obtain the 
required clearances that explicitly identifies personnel responsible for “direct contact with children.” It is 
recommended that every organization consult with their legal counsel, municipality, and insurer when 
developing such policies. 

 
Effective July 25, 2015, the Child Abuse clearances and PSP criminal background check fees will be 
waived for volunteers working with children.  All clearances can be applied for electronically.  To 
override the fee, select volunteering when applying online.  Paper applications can be received 
without payment if the reason is for volunteering.  The FBI clearance requires fingerprint 
submission.  

a. The PSP Criminal Record Check and the Pennsylvania Child Abuse History Clearance fees 
are waived for volunteers and reduced to $8 each for employees. 

b. The FBI Criminal Background Check costs $25.75 through the Department of Human 
Services. 

Your organization should determine who pays for the cost of the required clearances.  Some 
agencies may choose to pay for clearances for their staff members or have the staff member pay the 
costs. 
 
If the organization responsible for employment decisions or the administrator of the service has:  
• a reasonable belief that an employee or volunteer was arrested or convicted for an offense that 

would constitute grounds for denying employment or participation in the service  
• was named as perpetrator in a report  
• was arrested for an offence and provided notice as required under this section  
Then, the administrator will immediately require the employee or volunteer to submit current 
information for a background investigation. The cost of the investigation shall be borne by the 
employing service. 
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If a volunteer or paid staff member is arrested for or convicted of an offense that would constitute 
grounds for denying participation, the volunteer or paid staff member must provide written notice no 
later than 72 hours after the arrest, conviction or notification that the person has been listed as a 
perpetrator in the statewide database.  A volunteer who willfully fails to disclose information as required 
above commits a misdemeanor of the third degree and shall be subject to discipline up to and including 
termination or denial of a volunteer or paid position. 

 
Copies of all clearances shall be maintained by the agency, are confidential and may not be released to 
other individuals.  For more information, reference the Child Protective Services Law Chapter 63 at: 
http://www.legis.state.pa.us/WU01/LI/LI/CT/HTM/23/00.063..HTM or go to the Department of Human 
Services website at: www.dhs.state.pa.us or www.keepkidssafe.pa.gov. 
 

http://www.legis.state.pa.us/WU01/LI/LI/CT/HTM/23/00.063..HTM
http://www.dhs.state.pa.us/
http://www.keepkidssafe.pa.gov/
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CHILD PROTECTIVE SERVICES LAW AMENDMENTS 
FOR EMS AGENCIES AND EMS PROVIDERS 

AUGUST 2015 
 

In April 2015, the Bureau of Emergency Medical Services (Bureau) of the Department of Health 
issued two sets of FAQ documents relating to amendments enacted under the Child Protective 
Services Law (CPSL).  On July 1, 2015, Act 15 was signed into law and changed some of the 
information provided in those two FAQ documents, particularly as they relate to the 
requirements for background checks for EMS providers.  This document replaces the two 
documents issued in April 2015.  Please note that EMS providers are still mandatory reporters 
and nothing has changed relative to an EMS provider’s responsibility to report suspected cases of 
child abuse. 
 

1. Are EMS providers required to obtain a background check? 
 
Generally, speaking EMS providers do not need clearances regardless of whether they are 
paid or a volunteer1. 

 
2. Are there situations where an EMS provider is required to have a background 

check? 
 
Yes.  As an example, if the EMS provider is part of a junior EMS program or other type 
of “program, activity or service” involving children, then those individuals who are either 
responsible for the child’s welfare or have direct contact or direct volunteer contact with 
children would need clearances. 
 
Junior EMS programs would be considered a program, activity or service, which 
includes: youth camp or program, recreational camp or program, sports or athletic 
program, community or social outreach program, enrichment or educational program, 
troop, club or similar organization.  
 
For employees, direct contact is care, supervision, guidance or control of children OR 
routine interaction with children.   
 
For volunteers, direct volunteer contact is care, supervision, guidance or control or 
children AND routine interaction with children. 

 
3. What is the definition of “person responsible for the child’s welfare” under Act 15? 

 
A person who provides permanent or temporary care, supervision, mental health 
diagnosis or treatment, training or control of a child in lieu of parental care, supervision 
and control. 
 

4. What is the definition of “program, activity or service” under Act 15? 
 
Any of the following in which children participate and which is sponsored by a school or 
a public or private organization: 
 
(1) A youth camp or program. 
(2) A recreational camp or program. 
(3) A sports or athletic program. 
(4) A community or social outreach program. 
(5) An enrichment or educational program. 
(6) A troop, club or similar organization. 

                                                           
 



  

 

 
5. How much do the background checks cost? 

 
As of July 25, 2015, the costs are as follows for employees, though other fees may apply: 
 
1. Pennsylvania Child Abuse History Clearance - $8.00  
2. Pennsylvania State Police Criminal Record Check - $8.00  
3. Federal Bureau of Investigation Criminal Background Check through the Department 

of Human Services - $25.75 
 
 As of July 25, 2015, the costs are as follows for volunteers, though other fees may apply: 
 

1. Pennsylvania Child Abuse History Clearance - $0.00  
2. Pennsylvania State Police Criminal Record Check - $0.00  
3. Federal Bureau of Investigation Criminal Background Check through the Department 

of Human Services - $25.75 
 

6. What is the renewal requirement for background checks? 
 
Beginning July 1, 2015 for employees, and August 25, 2015 for volunteers, certifications 
must be obtained every 60 months.  
 
Any employee with current certification issued prior to July 1, 2015, must renew their 
certifications within 60 months from the date of their oldest certification or, if their 
current certification is older than 60 months, by December 31, 2015. 
  
If an individual elects to renew all certifications at the same time, the date of the oldest 
certification, rather than the most recent, is the date to be used for the renewal date. 
 

7. What should an EMS provider do once he or she obtains the required background 
checks? 
 
The EMS provider must submit those documents to each EMS agency that he or she 
works for and keep copies for his or her own records. 

 
8. What is the EMS agency’s responsibility relating to background checks? 

 
An EMS agency must ensure that its employees, including volunteers, get the required 
background checks under the CPSL and that the EMS agency maintains proper 
documentation that its employees, including volunteers, have the requisite background 
checks at all times.  An employer that fails to do so commits a misdemeanor of the third 
degree. 
 

9. Can an EMS provider use a child abuse history certification or PSP criminal history 
he or she obtained for volunteer activities for other volunteer activities? 
  
Yes. Any person who obtained their certifications within the previous 60 months may 
serve in a volunteer capacity for any program, activity or service.  
 

10. Can an EMS provider use a child abuse history certification or PSP criminal history 
certification he or she obtained for volunteer activities for employment purposes?  
 
No.  Child abuse history certifications and PSP criminal history certifications obtained for 
volunteer purposes can only be used for other volunteer activities. Child abuse history 
certifications obtained for volunteer purposes will indicate that the certification is to be 
used for volunteer purposes only. 

 



  

 

11. Can an EMS provider use a child abuse history certification or PSP criminal history 
he or she obtained for employment purposes for volunteer purposes?  

 
Yes.  If the EMS provider obtained a certification for employment purposes within the 
previous 60 months he or she may use the certification to serve in a volunteer capacity for 
any program, activity, or service. 

 
12. What is the Bureau of EMS’ role regarding CPSL compliance? 

 
While the Department of Health does not administer the CPSL, the Bureau of EMS is the 
licensing and certification agency for EMS agencies and EMS providers.  The Bureau of 
EMS will review any violations of the CPSL and other laws and take appropriate action 
as authorized under the EMS System Act and Department regulations.  The Bureau of 
EMS will begin to monitor compliance with CPSL requirements as part of the licensure 
process and assist EMS agencies, where feasible, with meeting the requirements of the 
CPSL. 
 

13. Where can I get a copy of Act 15? 
 
http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/billinfo/billinfo.cfm?syear=2015&sind=0&body=H&t
ype=B&bn=1276 
 

14. I have more questions.  To whom should I direct them? 
 

• Legal questions should be directed to the EMS agency’s attorney.  The Bureau of EMS 
cannot answer questions or provide legal advice to EMS agencies or EMS providers 
regarding their obligations under the CPSL, as this law is administered by DHS.  This 
FAQ page is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice by the 
Department of Health. 
 

• Questions related to child protection can be sent to the Department of Human Services’ 
Office of Children, Youth and Families at RA-PWCPSLQuestions@pa.gov. 
 

• For questions regarding Child Abuse Referrals, contact ChildLine at 1-800-932-0313. 
 

• For questions regarding your Pennsylvania Child Abuse History Clearance Application, 
contact ChildLine at 1-877-371-5422. 
 

• For assistance with your ChildLine account log-in or other technical issues, contact 1-
877-343-0494. 
 

• It is also recommended that any interested or effected person review the Department of 
Human Services’ website relating to the CPSL at http://keepkidssafe.pa.gov/index.htm. 

 

http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/billinfo/billinfo.cfm?syear=2015&sind=0&body=H&type=B&bn=1276
http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/billinfo/billinfo.cfm?syear=2015&sind=0&body=H&type=B&bn=1276
mailto:RA-PWCPSLQuestions@pa.gov
http://keepkidssafe.pa.gov/index.htm

